Artenvy's Blog

An Ongoing Journey into Mixed Media Art

Different strokes: A lesson on letting go August 27, 2010

Filed under: Creative Insight — artenvy @ 11:00 pm


Different strokes, originally uploaded by Artenvy.

I decided to just play in my altered book and this is what I ended up with. I really like the outcome, I’m sure there is more I could do to make it look a little more finished, but for now I’ll leave it as is.

This spread really taught me the freedom of letting go of my expectations for the final product. I didn’t let myself get attached and wasn’t worried about letting go a little. I still have a long way to go as far as learning how to “REALLY” let go, but baby steps right?

 

3 Responses to “Different strokes: A lesson on letting go”

  1. peggy Says:

    this is lovely! i have always wanted to start making an altered book.

  2. Anna Says:

    Your altered book page…Different Strokes left me breathless! So deep with so much feeling…colorful and yet so very meaningful. I love it and if this is what letting go is all about, then I need to get to that place also. Thank you for sharing and can’t wait to see more. Anna 🙂

  3. Kristen Says:

    Thank you Anna, I seem to produce my favorite artwork when I don’t worry about the outcome. Just start throwing down media on paper and see what you come up with! Also wanted to let you know I have another blog now that I mostly post to. It’s at http://www.artplaytoday.blogspot.com

    Thanks again for such great feedback!

    Kristen


Leave a Reply

