Artenvy's Blog

An Ongoing Journey into Mixed Media Art

Art Everyday December 5, 2009

Filed under: 1 — artenvy @ 11:23 pm

Hi!  I’ve been working on the Creative Every Day challenge, the December theme being “Recycle”.  Teesha More has a great video tutorial on Art Journaling.  She breaks it down into several videos including backgrounds, collage ,pen work and lettering technique.

So I”ve been cutting up old magazines, old photos and anything else I can think of that has nice color and can be cut and glued.  I’ve created my first ever ATC cars (only 2 so far) and some really cool journal pages!  I’ll post them soon.

I also wanted to share some “Recycled Art” ideas that I’ve done in the past:

Use old grocery bags fused together to create small pencil pouches for the kids at the beginning of the school year:  There are a lot of videos on youtube on how to fuse plastic grocery bags into a usable material for all sorts of things.  I painted on it, collaged on it and freestyle stitched on my sewing machine to create cool detail, then sewed them into little “wallet ” style pouches.  I’ve also made myself a little coupon pouch for my purse which has become quite handy!  I guess that’s about it for now.  Happy Creating to everyone!

 

Leave a Reply

